RELEASE
July 27, 2004
LABEL
Chesky
GENRES
Vocal Music, Jazz-Pop, Standards, Crossover Jazz, Mainstream Jazz, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

Retrospective is a best-of CD that draws its material from singer Christy Baron's three previous Chesky sets: I Thought About You, Steppin', and Take This Journey. Unfortunately the packaging of this CD does not bother including a list of the personnel; however the selections are well chosen and they feature Baron at her best. In addition to modernized versions of a few standards, she turns a variety of pop and rock tunes into jazz, ranging from the Beatles' "Got to Get You Into My Life" to songs by Carole King, Peter Gabriel, and Stevie Wonder. The backup groups are excellent, Baron has an attractive voice, and there are enough subtle surprises throughout this sampler to make one desire to hear her three previous CDs in full.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. She's Not Therehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shes-not-there/id260558337?i=260558362&uo=5
  2. Night and Dayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/night-and-day/id260558337?i=260558525&uo=5
  3. Not While I'm Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/not-while-im-around/id260558337?i=260558719&uo=5
  4. Got to Get You into My Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/got-to-get-you-into-my-life/id260558337?i=260558959&uo=5
  5. The Shadow of Your Smilehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-shadow-of-your-smile/id260558337?i=260559081&uo=5
  6. That Old Devil Moonhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/that-old-devil-moon/id260558337?i=260559305&uo=5
  7. Ain't No Half Steppin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/aint-no-half-steppin/id260558337?i=260559451&uo=5
  8. Overjoyedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/overjoyed/id260558337?i=260559587&uo=5
  9. Over the Rainbowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/retrospective/id260558337?uo=5
  10. Stand Behind Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stand-behind-me/id260558337?i=260560067&uo=5
  11. Body and Soulhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/body-and-soul/id260558337?i=260560191&uo=5
  12. Happy Togetherhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/happy-together/id260558337?i=260560298&uo=5
  13. 'Round Midnighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/round-midnight/id260558337?i=260560418&uo=5
  14. Mercy Streethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mercy-street/id260558337?i=260560540&uo=5
  15. Ain't No Sunshinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/aint-no-sunshine/id260558337?i=260560721&uo=5
purchase full album