RELEASE
August 30, 1968
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock, Country-Rock, Psychedelic, Contemporary Pop/Rock, AM Pop

Album Review

The Byrds' Sweetheart of the Rodeo was not the first important country-rock album (Gram Parsons managed that feat with the International Submarine Band's debut Safe at Home), and the Byrds were hardly strangers to country music, dipping their toes in the twangy stuff as early as their second album. But no major band had gone so deep into the sound and feeling of classic country (without parody or condescension) as the Byrds did on Sweetheart; at a time when most rock fans viewed country as a musical "L'il Abner" routine, the Byrds dared to declare that C&W could be hip, cool, and heartfelt. Though Gram Parsons had joined the band as a pianist and lead guitarist, his deep love of C&W soon took hold, and Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman followed his lead; significantly, the only two original songs on the album were both written by Parsons (the achingly beautiful "Hickory Wind" and "One Hundred Years from Now"), while on the rest of the set classic tunes by Merle Haggard, the Louvin Brothers, and Woody Guthrie were sandwiched between a pair of twanged-up Bob Dylan compositions. While many cite this as more of a Gram Parsons album than a Byrds set, given the strong country influence of McGuinn's and Hillman's later work, it's obvious Parsons didn't impose a style upon this band so much as he tapped into a sound that was already there, waiting to be released. If the Byrds didn't do country-rock first, they did it brilliantly, and few albums in the style are as beautiful and emotionally affecting as this. [Columbia's 1997 CD reissue of the album improves on the masterpiece by adding eight strong bonus tracks, including four cuts with Gram Parsons singing lead trimmed from the original release for legal reasons.]
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You Ain't Going Nowherehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sweetheart-of-the-rodeo/id357034967?uo=5
  2. I Am a Pilgrimhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-am-a-pilgrim/id357034967?i=357034969&uo=5
  3. The Christian Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-christian-life/id357034967?i=357034970&uo=5
  4. You Don't Miss Your Waterhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-dont-miss-your-water/id357034967?i=357034971&uo=5
  5. You're Still on My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-still-on-my-mind/id357034967?i=357034972&uo=5
  6. Pretty Boy Floydhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/pretty-boy-floyd/id357034967?i=357034973&uo=5
  7. Hickory Windhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hickory-wind/id357034967?i=357034974&uo=5
  8. One Hundred Years from Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one-hundred-years-from-now/id357034967?i=357034975&uo=5
  9. Blue Canadian Rockieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/blue-canadian-rockies/id357034967?i=357034976&uo=5
  10. Life in Prisonhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/life-in-prison/id357034967?i=357034981&uo=5
  11. Nothing Was Deliveredhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-was-delivered/id357034967?i=357034982&uo=5
  12. You Got a Reputation [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/you-got-a-reputation/id281801812?i=281801963&uo=5
  13. Lazy Days [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/lazy-days/id281801812?i=281801968&uo=5
  14. Pretty Polly [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/pretty-polly/id357034967?i=357035113&uo=5
  15. The Christian Life [Rehearsal - Take #11][#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-christian-life/id281801812?i=281801976&uo=5
  16. Life in Prison [Rehearsal - Take #11][#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/life-in-prison/id281801812?i=281801980&uo=5
  17. You're Still on My Mind [Rehearsal - Take #43][#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-still-on-my-mind/id281801812?i=281801982&uo=5
  18. One Hundred Years from Now [Rehearsal - Take #2][#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/one-hundred-years-from-now/id357034967?i=357035117&uo=5
  19. All I Have Are Memories [#][*][Instrumental]http://itunes.apple.com/album/all-i-have-are-memories/id281801812?i=281801994&uo=5
purchase full album