RELEASE
April 04, 1957
LABEL
Verve
GENRES
Vocal Music, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop

Album Review

For this well-rounded CD reissue that adds nine cuts to the original program, Anita O'Day, in her prime period, is mostly heard accompanied by Buddy Bregman & His Orchestra, but there are also a few tracks on which she is joined by a jazz combo featuring trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison. Highlights include "Don't Be That Way," "Stompin' at the Savoy," "Pick Yourself Up," "Sweet Georgia Brown," and "I Won't Dance." Virtually all of Anita O'Day's 1950s recordings are recommended, for her drug use had not yet affected her voice and her creativity was generally at its height.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Don't Be That Wayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-be-that-way/id373182?i=373180&uo=5
  2. Let's Face the Music and Dancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lets-face-the-music-and-dance/id373182?i=373176&uo=5
  3. I Never Had a Chancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-never-had-a-chance/id373182?i=373136&uo=5
  4. Stompin' at the Savoyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stompin-at-the-savoy/id373182?i=373138&uo=5
  5. Pick Yourself Uphttp://itunes.apple.com/album/pick-yourself-up/id373182?i=373144&uo=5
  6. Stars Fell on Alabamahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stars-fell-on-alabama/id373182?i=373146&uo=5
  7. Sweet Georgia Brownhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sweet-georgia-brown/id373182?i=373148&uo=5
  8. I Won't Dancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-wont-dance/id373182?i=373150&uo=5
  9. Man with a Hornhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/man-with-a-horn/id373182?i=373152&uo=5
  10. I Used to Be Color Blindhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-used-to-be-color-blind/id373182?i=373154&uo=5
  11. There's a Lull in My Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/theres-a-lull-in-my-life/id373182?i=373156&uo=5
  12. Let's Beginhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lets-begin/id373182?i=373158&uo=5
  13. I'm with You [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-with-you/id373182?i=373160&uo=5
  14. The Rock & Roll Waltz [*]https://itunes.apple.com/album/pick-yourself-up-anita-oday/id605288688?uo=5
  15. The Getaway and the Chase [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-getaway-and-the-chase/id373182?i=373164&uo=5
  16. Your Picture's Hanging Crooked on the Wall [#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/your-pictures-hanging-crooked/id373182?i=373166&uo=5
  17. We Laughed at Love [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/we-laughed-at-love/id373182?i=373168&uo=5
  18. I'm Not Lonely [#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-not-lonely/id373182?i=373170&uo=5
  19. Let's Face the Music and Dance [Alternate Take][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/lets-face-the-music-and-dance/id373182?i=373172&uo=5
  20. Ivy [#][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/ivy/id373182?i=373174&uo=5
  21. Stars Fell on Alabama [Alternate Take][*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/stars-fell-on-alabama/id373182?i=373178&uo=5
purchase full album